Skip to content
10/25/2010 / jenidleman

Pumpkin Seeds

This past weekend the kids carved their pumpkins, which is something I can’t wait to do every year… because I happen to love roasted pumpkin seeds. Back before I had these two around, I would carve a couple of pumpkins myself just so I could pull out the yummy seeds. Sad, right? 😛

Here’s a pic, and the recipe I made up – in case you’d like to try them too!

Roasted Pumpkin Seeds

Roasted Pumpkin Seeds

Pumpkin Seeds (I always use two pumpkins, approx 2 1/2 cups of seeds)
3 Tbs Each Brown and White sugar (or you can skip the white sugar and use honey instead)
1/4 cup chopped peanuts (I skip those now, because my guy is allergic)
1/2 tsp of cinnamon (or more, to taste)
1/2 tsp of vanilla extract
2 Tbs of butter, melted

Preheat oven to 400°F.  Thoroughly rinse your pumpkin seeds, and get rid of any of the pumpkin slime, then spread them out on paper towels and pat them dry. Place seeds in a bowl, and stir in the melted butter and vanilla. Add the sugars and cinnamon and mix until coated, then mix in the peanuts. Spray a cookie sheet with cooking spray, and spread out the seeds in a single-ish layer, then pop them in the oven for about 10-15 minutes. Toward the 15 minute side if you want them to be extra crunchy. Just be careful that the sugar doesn’t burn. Take them out of the oven and let them cool for a few minutes, then scoop them into a bowl and enjoy. 🙂

Leave a Reply

