Skip to content
08/19/2010 / jenidleman

Summer Reading

I love to read. I’ve loved it since I was getting those sesame street and fraggle rock books shipped to my house monthly when I was like, 5. I went from “Grover Sleeps Over” to any and all horse books I could find, to Babysitters Club and Nancy Drew, and then I grew into mysteries, and sci-fi, and then even a little bit of Horror. Now I’ll pick up anything that looks interesting. However, If I can’t get into it within the first few chapters, I lay it down and never pick it up again. It’s gotta be worth my time.

My summer reading list was really long this year. And since we’ve got the pool, the beach, and we’ve been traveling a lot for business, I’ve actually had some time to work on it!

I started it off with “Abraham Lincoln: Vampire Hunter” – By Seth Grahame-Smith. LOVED this book. It’s from the “Quirk” series, which includes “Pride and Prejudice and Zombies” and the one I’m currently reading “Dawn Of The Dreadfuls.” The Abraham Lincoln book was especially cool for me, because I really liked Abraham Lincoln to begin with. Give him a weapon and have him start chasing vampires (REAL vampires, not sparkling ones) all along the Mississippi, I’m completely engrossed. I’d definitely recommend this one for a quick, entertaining read.

Then I read a couple of books by Emily Giffen – and they have become somewhat of a guilty pleasure. Literary genius they are not, but the stories are kind of engaging, in a soap opera kind of way. So far I’ve read “Something Borrowed” and “Something Blue” and I have “Baby Proof” in my beach/pool bag. I’ve heard that the first two are being made into a movie… Will I see them? Possibly.

After that I read “The Girl With Glass Feet,” Β by Ali Shaw. I really liked this book. It’s about a… wait for it… girl with glass feet. Kind of dark, smart and imaginative, fantasy, yet realistic. And the ending wasn’t necessarily happy. It was so good I actually read it when I ‘wasn’t’ on the beach or on an airplane. I learned while looking for a picture to include in this post that this was Shaw’s first novel. I really really really hope he writes more!

And my final mention for this post – “Water For Elephants” – By Sara Gruen. I just finished reading this one. And I’m so glad I did, because I just found out they’re making it into a movie. Starring Robert Pattinson. Yeah, the Twilight guy. Pleh. If I had seen that first, I would have never known how good the book was because I wouldn’t have given it a chance. I enjoyed this book a lot. It was a little icky and gritty, and in parts – tragic, but it’s about a circus during the great depression, so I mean, it’s not gonna be a ‘kittens and unicorns’ book. It was a great story, very real, and perfect length to last me the flight to and from Chicago! Also, the ending pretty much rocks. πŸ™‚

I’ve started many other books, but unfortunately they didn’t hold my interest. Some of them may get another shot in actual paper book form, such as “The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo,” as kindle books and I do not have a good relationship… But I only mention the good ones. πŸ˜‰

And just to end on a really good note… Tomorrow’s Friday!!! πŸ™‚

3 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Samantha / Aug 19 2010 11:03 PM

    Hah! I bought Al’s dad Vampire Hunter.. he didnt think it was very funny.

    • jenidleman / Aug 19 2010 11:53 PM

      Hehe I can see it not being for everyone, but I really liked it. I read it in two days. πŸ™‚

Trackbacks

  1. Favorite things today! « Prolific Peregrination

Leave a Reply

