Skip to content
08/09/2010 / jenidleman

Home sweet home!

I had SUCH a good week.

It all started on Tuesday, when I got:

Engagement Ring

My engagement ring!

I love it almost as much as I love him. 🙂 He designed it, and had it made just for me, so it’s one of a kind. For some reason, I think the whole engagement thing feels more official now. That’s probably silly, but I’ve been staring at it for a week now, and every time I see it, I think “Wow, he really wants to marry me!”

On Wednesday, we flew to Chicago. Due to President Obama’s birthday celebration, our flight turned into quite a fiasco, turning a two hour flight into a 6 hour flight, complete with almost two hours of circling Cincinnati, landing in Louisville to refuel, then sitting in the penalty box for almost another hour waiting for an open gate once we landed in Chicago. *sigh* My guy had a couple of business meetings to take care of Thursday morning, we didn’t get to spend as much time as we would have liked with his daughter, and some friends we have up there… but despite everything, we love that city, and it was great to visit, even if only for a day.

On Thursday we drove to Lake Geneva, Wisconsin to a Bed and Breakfast called The Bailey House. Edward has known the owners for a long time, and when they mentioned that they needed a new website, I got the task. Let me just tell you how much I love my job.

The house was absolutely beautiful. It was warm, cozy, and romantic… yet not in a cheesy way. (No pun intended, Wisconsin folks.) The decor is cottage style, which I love, and each of the four ‘suites’ are equipped with a fireplace and a jacuzzi. And as the couple who own and run the inn serve you fresh baked cookies and give you the tour of the house after you arrive, you quickly feel right at home. There’s even a cute little jack russel/beagle mix dog, named Barney, who patrols the house and keeps everything safe. 🙂

Here are a few pictures:

The Smithe Suite Table

We met some super nice people, who were also staying at the B&B, (including a guy named MERLIN! How cool is that?) and explored the beautiful lake community – with little waterfront dives and joints, cute little shops, and of course the lake and the multi-million dollar homes surrounding it. We ate cheese curds. We trained John and Karen, the innkeepers, on how to use their new website – which I will post a link to as soon as it goes live – and all the new features. And I’m hoping it gives them lots of new business and keeps them running for a very long time, because they are very, very sweet folks.

On Sunday I left my guy in Chicago, where he was boarding a flight Monday morning to Kalamazoo for another meeting… had a smooth, quick flight back to Tampa, and arrived safely at home to our kitties, who were very happy to see one of their people and get some treats.

Now I’m back to business as usual. For a little while at least. 🙂

Have a great week everyone!

Leave a Reply

