Skip to content
12/30/2009 / jenidleman

Christmas

I hope everyone had a wonderful Holiday. Mine was a lot different than I’m used to. For starters… I did my Christmas shopping in flip-flops instead of snow boots. Secondly, I did not get to visit my family in West Virginia for the first time in my entire life. And finally… I got to see what it’s like to have your own family come home for Christmas.

I always wanted a big family, but so far have not had the chance to have kids of my own. Well besides my kitties. But, my boyfriend has three children: 9, 14, and 20. And this year, I got to share Christmas with them. I helped shop for toys and cuteness and makeup, video games, and kitchen gadgets… I cooked more food than even I could imagine, and I had a 10ft blue spruce tree in my livingroom. I missed baking goodies with my Mom, and listening to my Dad play the piano and sing Christmas carols on Christmas Eve… shopping and wrapping presents with my sister… and maybe, though not probably, seeing my brother and nephews. But even in the absence of all the traditions my holidays are founded upon, I made a lot of happy memories with these new, amazing people that have wandered into my life… and I had the best Christmas.

Leave a Reply

